DUI Penalties in Sarasota Florida

DUI Penalties

A Sarasota DUI has penalties

DUI Penalties in Florida are much more severe compared to other states. In fact, in 2011, there were 33,625 DUI convictions made out of the 55,722 DUI tickets issued. If you have been accused of a DUI, seek the help of a Sarasota DUI defense attorney right away.

Florida has an “Implied Consent Law” wherein you sign your driver’s license along with the agreement that you take DUI FSTs (field sobriety tests) upon request of a law enforcement officer. You can be pulled over and asked to take a blood, urine, or breath test. Refusal to take any of the tests will result in immediate suspension of your license for a year. A second refusal results in an 18-month suspension.

When suspected, you will most likely be administered a Field Sobriety Test (FST). If you fail this, this is when you will have to take the blood, urine or breath test. Police may force you to draw blood in cases involving serious injury or death.

Being convicted of DUI in Florida carries various consequences depending on the severity and case. As any experienced DUI attorney will tell you, the punishments and penalties include three components— Loss of Liberty, Financial Costs, and Treatment.

Loss of Freedom

This involves a DUI conviction of serving time in jail or being sentenced to probation. If you are sentenced to probation instead of being jailed, your liberty will be curtailed to the extent that you are prohibited to go to bars, clubs, or places serving alcohol. You will be banned from consuming alcohol even in your own home. A curfew will also be given and you have to constantly report to your probation officer. If you are sentenced to imprisonment, you will have to undergo probation before being incarcerated.

Financial Costs

Financial punishments cover fines, court costs, cost of supervision for probation, cost of ignition interlock device when required, cost of DUI school, and alcohol or drug evaluation and rehabilitation. Your cost of car insurance will also be increased.

Treatment

A treatment program includes compulsory attending of DUI school and alcohol/drug evaluation and rehabilitation.

If it was found out that you drove while being intoxicated, you will be arrested and charged. You will not be held by the officer if you are not under the influence, not impaired, and your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is below 0.05. Even though Florida provides minimum sentences for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) crimes, the Judge still has the prerogative to sentence you to the maximum penalties possible.

DUI License Suspension

DUI License Suspension

DUI Penalties

Minor DUI Offenders

For drivers under 21, only a BAC of less than 0.2 will not be held. Minors with BAC of 0.2 or higher will be suspended for 6 months. The 0.2 BAC limit means those who are under 21 are not allowed to have even just a single drink before driving. Regardless of age, offenders will have to suffer the same penalties. Even if you’re under 21, you’ll need to talk to a DUI defense lawyer to help settle your case.

Fine Schedule

First Conviction: $500-$1,000
For BAC of 0.15 or higher, and for minors: $1,000-$2,000

Second Conviction: $1,000-$2,000
For BAC of 0.15 or higher, and for minors: $2,000-$4,000

Third Conviction (Should be more than 10 years from second offense): $2,000-$5,000
For BAC of 0.15 or higher, and for minors: $2,000-$4,000

Fourth Conviction or Subsequent Conviction (Third offense that is not more than 10 years from the 2nd offense): $2,000 and up

Community Service

It is required upon first conviction. Offender will have to serve at least 50 hours of community service. If he does not wish to serve, he can opt to pay additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service that is required of him.

Probation

First conviction will result in a probation and incarceration of not more than 12 months.

Imprisonment

This depends upon court discretion and may either be served in jail or in a rehabilitation center.

First Conviction: Not more than 6 months.
BAC of 0.15 or higher, and for minors: Not more than 9 months.

Second Conviction: Not more than 9 months.
BAC of 0.15 or higher, and for minors: Not more than a year.
If second conviction is within 5 years, at least 10 days of mandatory imprisonment will be sentenced. 48 hours confinement must be consecutive.

Third Conviction (within 10 years from 2nd): Mandatory imprisonment of at least a month and at least 2 days of consecutive confinement.

Third Conviction (more than 10 years from 2nd): Not more than a year.

Fourth Conviction or Subsequent Conviction: Not more than 5 years.

Sarasota DUI Defense Attorney

Get a Sarasota DUI Defense Attorney

Impoundment

Unless the family of the defendant has no other means of transportation or it is used in business by the defendant’s employees, the vehicle will be impounded.

First Conviction: 10 days

Second Conviction (within 5 years from 1st): 1 month

Third Conviction (within 10 years from 2nd): 3 months

Impoundment or immobilization should not occur concurrently with imprisonment.

These are the general DUI penalties in Florida for DUI crimes to give you an overview. Certain laws apply for different types of DUI offenses and it is under the jurisdiction of the court. Regardless of the situation, you should get the advice of a Sarasota DUI defense attorney as soon as you can. For an experienced DUI attorney in Sarasota, visit http://www.sarasotaduiattorney.net. Don’t gamble with your future.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.